137 Posts
36 Users
79 Reactions
siudawgs
(@siudawgs)
SIU Arena Poster

Posted by: @saluki-4-life
Posted by: @class-of-69

I have to be honest and say I thought we would be farther along with Mullins by this time, especially after his first season when it seemed like the spark was back in team enthusiasm and hustle. That being said, injuries and Covid have set us back. Last year there was a lot of talk about how much we missed J.D. Muilla, but we can see from last night that he is not the answer at the 5 spot that we thought he would be. I like Mullins as a coach, I think he brings a lot to the table, but until SIU is the hunted and not the hunter, patience will grow thin. It's a tough business, but the bottom line is that wins fill the seats and keeps the monster fed. Right now our dragon just doesn't have enough fire. We are middle of the pack in the MVC. Until we have a Gage Primm type of player and develop some sort of consistent inside game, we are going to see more of what we saw tonight, a team that battle hards but is fighting uphill against the better teams in our league.

The problem with COVID is that is has tainted the view of this season.  We should not be playing against Lucas Williamson and Gage Prim.  It kind of delays where we should be in the valley for an extra year.  It's hard to pass teams that retained guys that should have moved on.  Thats why having a young roster in a rebuild is good.  You know other teams best players move on and yours are growing and coming back.  That did not happen this year.  If Domask and Jones use their COVID year they should the class of the valley when they are super seniors.  If Banks and Verplanken use theirs they are going to be tough to deal with too.  COVID hit at a really bad time for having a young roster.  We need these 22 year olds to move on in order to really see the progress of our team.